a woman with two cats



My name is Rachel. I have been creating jewelry for almost 20 years. My life background is in art, but I also enjoy grammar and math, strangely.

I live in New York with my two kitties: a Siamese-tabby cat named Oliver and a tuxedo cat named Marauder. Both cats were rescues, and any man that comes into my life comes in knowing that he will always come second to them. I’ve been told they are the ‘Most Spoiled Cats In Brooklyn.’ You can breathe easy in knowing that at least 10% of all my sales will go towards toys for them.

I am the oldest of four kids. We’re all grown now, but I spent the majority of my teen years and twenties babysitting for them and other children.

I was born in New York, but I spent most of my childhood in the south. My father’s side of the family originated in Greece, and my mother’s family is Jewish, though I don't know the country of origin.

While jewelry is my main artistic love, I also experiment in many different art forms. In my studio, you will find supplies for sewing, painting (acrylic, oil, watercolor, and enamel), leather-working, felting, cross-stitching, yarn crafts, and then also drawers full of found objects like papers and boxes that had pretty designs.

I am also rather proficient in the art of food. I’m a great cook, a decent baker, a trained barista, and a trained bartender. I can also open a can of cat food without getting any of the liquid on me which basically makes me an expert.

My apartment combines my loves for vintage and DIY. It is covered in art created by my grandparents, gifted art, and art I picked up at the thrift store. I have a love for beautiful teacups, vintage tins, and vintage trunks. Things I collect are both beautiful and functional, and I am lucky enough to have been left many beautiful family heirlooms by my grandmother.

In my ‘leisure’ time, I enjoy reading, tv shows (which are always in the background when I’m creating as well), movies, and taking naps.

In the future, I’d love to travel more. I’d like to think I want to travel mostly for the culture. While that’s true, I’m pretty sure I just want to buy more beads.